It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that it is more necessary for children to study local history rather than the history of the world While I believe that children should learn about local history, I agree that schools teach their pupils about world history. On the one hand, it is more significant for school children to study local history. Firstly, by knowing about the past of their country, school children will foster a sense of belonging and pride in each child. For example, they will know how their earlier generations fought and made sacrifices for the freedom of the country. As a result, they will appreciate the value of life and liberty they enjoy today. Secondly, through history lessons, youngsters will gain a deeper understanding of core values and traditional events of their country. Thus, they can be motivated to carry on the best customs for the next generations to come. On the other hand, children should be encouraged to have knowledge of the history of the world. The modern trends towards globalisation makes it more necessary for children to have more knowledge of the past of the world. They will form a mutual understanding of ethnic groups and different cultures across the world. Another important aspect is that youngsters will gain a deeper understanding of the inter-relationship of nations and how international historical events, such as colonisation, have formed our contemporary society. In conclusion, it is equally important for children to learn about local history as well as the history of the world.