Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because people follow the same media. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Differences among nations are becoming less perceptible these days as people all over the world are sharing the same lifestyle, technology, fashion, foods, advertisements, and entertainment programmes. As a result, cultural identity and traditions are in peril. The following essay advocates that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits of this trend. The first benefit of this trend is that international brands can produce goods on a mass scale, and the manufacturing cost becomes cheaper. As a result, consumers enjoy the advantage of buying products from global brands at an affordable price. Secondly, people all over the world share the same culinary experience, and that is why they have more food options than ever before. For example, people around the globe can now purchase food based on their preference, whether it is Chinese, Indian or Western food or brands. Furthermore, this trend reduces the cultural barrier and brings people under a common platform where people will have more knowledge and respect about other nations and their customs. On the contrary, the globalisation of the fashion, entertainment and culinary industries have some severe negative sides. First, many people abandon their cultural values due to this, which hurts the identity of a country. Besides, foreign television shows have negative influences on young people. Many global TV channels, for example, show programmes that are sensitive to other cultures. However, as these shows are easily accessible nowadays, many young people follow them, and as a consequence, adopt a non-acceptable lifestyle and life choices. In conclusion, the globalisation of fashion, advertising, culinary and entertainment products have both advantages and disadvantages. But, carefully considering both, I strongly feel that it has more negative effects than positive aspects.