There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, young people become more and more stress because of pressure to success in their education. Accordingly, some people claim that only academic subjects should be taugh in school. Other subjects are not good for student concentrate. As far as I am concern, I strongly disagree with this statement for several reasons which will be discussed in this essay. One of the main reasons is that non-academic subjects could improve student's practical skills. This is because there are a number of skills which students could learn outside their books or classrooms. Students could gain these experiences and apply them to their daily life. For example, In Thailand, all high school students must attend a cooking class. Therefore, most Thai students could cook some basic menus for themselves. Moreover, some skills are benefit for higher education such as writing and creative skills. Another reason is that non-academic classes are good for mental health. To explain, students might be stress when they study a lot of academic subjects in schools. However, other classes, such as a physical education class, will reduce their anxiety. For instance, according to the research conducted by Oxford University, playing football is not only good for physical health, but also reduce bad emotions. Also, art and music can make students more relaxed during they are in schools. In conclusion, I believe that non-academic classes have various plus points for students. Consequently, I totally disagree with this statement and schools should not remove these subjects from the school syllabus.