Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that student numbers in every university subject should be equal between men and women. Personally, I completely disagree with this view. Firstly, having an equal proportion of gender on all degree courses is unrealistic. This is because the number of students studying a course depends on applicants numbers who register. If educational institutions filled their courses with the same number of male and female pupils, it would need the equivalent candidates of each gender. Some academy programs are popular with each gender than the other. Science subjects, for example, tend to attract male applicants than female counterparts, it would be impractical when these institutions must fill their subjects with fifty per cent of the places for women. On the other hand, I believe that it would be unfair to base admission to higher education on gender. The reason for this is that universities select their students through scores in the entrance exam and qualifications. If such institutions try to choose the same number of women and men on their courses, it may lead to a situation where some candidates would not be selected due to their gender. To illustrate, a female applicant achieves higher grades than a male counterpart, it would be wrong to reject her in favour of the male because of the equal gender policy. In conclusion, the selection of universities should be based on merit, and it would be unfair and impractical to add gender equality to the procedure.