Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam' How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars

Over the past three decades, the number of private cars on the roads has skyrocketed in various capital cities all over the world, which results in the massive traffic jam. As being a driver in Bangkok, Thailand, I strongly agree with this statements. Moreover, this essay will examine the effective measures that the government should implement for encouraging people to less use their cars. Nowadays, people are prone to travel and commute by private cars than public transport due to its convenience, and affordable prices. For this reason, the road are full with the cars, and eventually one big traffic jam. The Phahonyothin road can be a good example to illustrate the definition of car jam. Obviously, you need to spend at least a hours to travel just 10 kilometers through this road. Someone believe that it is faster to travel by bicycles. Therefore, the aforementioned evidence indicates that the traffic jam is real, and being a trouble, that the government should make the solutions to it. One of the promising measures for ameliorating the vast majority of cars, and enabling to lure people to reduce the car use includes increasing taxes on fuel and the car prices, and improving public transport. Firstly, higher price for fuel and cars discourage citizens to buy cars because with the higher outcome, people prefer to save the money and take the alternative options for transportation that is why the government should enhance the quality of public transports including buses, trains, and vans. Moreover, they should increase the train station in every sub districts, and small cities to facilitate traveling of citizens. Since its more convenient and less money spended, people turn to use more public transpots transports and use less private cars. In summary, recently, numerous cities across the world have faced the drastic increase in the private cars resulting in traffic jam. However, rising the fuel and car price and public transpot enhancement can be successful measures to mitigate the problem of traffic jams.