Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Tourism has grown on an unprecedented scale in the recent half century. However, although some people think that this development has brought repercussions on locals and the environment, others including myself believe that it has a huge positive impact on the country’s economy. When considering downsides, with the growth of tourism industry, many foreign investors are coming to build hotels or other tourist-based infrastructure. As a result, local small merchandisers or businessmen will not be able to compete against them as they are from multi-national companies. Besides, when many visitors congregated to an attractive place such as a beach, they are more likely to litter the area and consequently harm the environment. For example, in Sri Lanka, one of most famous tourist destinations is Galle. On this beach, employees from local municipal counsil councils counsel collect more than 10 killograms of garbage everyday due to tourist activities even if tourists are aware of eco- tourism. Nevertheless, tourism has brought a lot of positives to a country. When many foreign people are visiting, there are three noticibale benefits to a country and its economy. Firstly, tourists need accommodation, food and other amenities which will bring foreign currency. Secondly, this can create more job opportunities to local people and eventually their income will increase. Finally, because of people from worldwide, the country can become a popular holiday destination. As a result of above mentioned three reasons, the country’s economy will boost. In conclusion, even though there are very little negatives associated with tourism, advantages overweigh them. Therefore, the government should take steps to further increase tourist attraction.