Some people like reading books for knowledge and pleasure; others prefer getting information and entertainment on the internet. What is your opinion? Write an essay at least 200 words.

A number of people would love to broaden their horizons and derive pleasure from reading books. Others, however, would rather obtain information and entertainment online. From my perspective, I support the latter in that I believe it brings about many intangible benefits far outweighing its drawbacks. In the first place, it is undeniable that getting news and data on the Internet has a leading edge over any other conventional forms of media, such as newspapers or books, due to its great convenience. In other words, at the push of a button, we humans could gain access to thousands of data sources and entertainment forms from the world over, many of which we need not pay money for. For example, such prestigious news publishers as BBC or CNN are known to provide individuals with up-to-date knowledge complimentarily. What is more, not only is the information lastest and detailed but it also covers a wide variety of current affairs on different topics, ranging from politics to education or show business, etc. This otherwise could not be seen in books or specialized newspapers, where readers are only able to obtain a definite amount of news from authorized sources. For instance, in some cases, data is spread by word of mouth, or recounted by a personal account, while books and articles are under strict laws of censorship. Nevertheless, to a certain extent, the Internet has its own disadvantage which would cause detriment to the netizens' orientation. To put it bluntly, information acquired on the Internet is at times misleading and inaccurate, thus bringing out public furore and chaos. Take, for example, the case during the pandemic situation is that unauthorized and fallacious news is widely issued to baffle the inhabitants' mentality. Meanwhile, the knowledge contained in most books is worthwhile and thoroughly written before being published with a huge amount of the author's efforts. All things considered, while reading books could benefit us academically with authorized and carefully researched knowledge, obtaining data and entertainment on the Internet is the most prevalent means in modern times. Therefore, I voice approval of the latter, though it would be better off combining those two to make the most out of them.