Children nowadays spend a great time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as learning tool, which is why children are less well educated today. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

In recent years, the issue of perceiving media contents though television in young generation has attracted people’s attention. It is argued that TV is not the priority source of education, comparing to textbooks. I completely agree with this statement thanks to several reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. The first primary reason is that books genuinely are the conceptual academic to understand comprehensive matters. In other words, reading books can obviously provide effective outcomes, succeeding high-academic achievement of students, while watching T.V. leads pupils to be illiterate person affecting the detriment of economic developments and a personal growth owing to increasingly uneducated person in societies. A good case of this point is that the statistic has showed that 70% of job descriptions in the organizations requiring outstanding candidates noticed as virtual pre-screen processes. Moreover, another compelling reason is that textbooks have been widely accepted as merit educational materials. It is commonly easy to understand that books totally provide in-dept details, especially created by excellent qualified authors or well-known academicians. Perhaps, a clearest illustration of this belief is that the world’s best selling of English grammar books written by Raymond Murphy and Martin Hewings, published by Cambridge University Press, considered to be the main English guidebook in several education institutions. In contrast, the opponents may argue that television contributes clearer virtual illustration than textbooks excessively relying on theoretical models. To explain, learners can be classified into two major features knowing as fast-adaptive learner and low-adaptive learner: therefore, reading may not be the most practical method for some groups. ABC T.V. education in Australia, for instance, has broadcasted Arithmetic, History, Science and technology contents boosting cognitive development in youths. Despite the fact that this viewpoint seems to have validity on the surface, what the opponents overlook is that we cannot control the T.V.’s contents when children spend their time alone owning to the fact that programs may consist of the mature content relating to violence and crimes resulting in children’s behaviors such as self-uncertainty and aggressive actions. In conclusion, I certainly agree with setting books as the main source of information in education system. If education institutions desire to use television as alternative materials, they should initially implement textbooks to be the permanent tool.