Children nowadays spend a great time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as learning tool, which is why children are less well educated today. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

In recent years, the issue of perceiving media content through television in the young generation has attracted people’s attention. It is argued that TV is not the priority source of schooling, comparing to workbook. I completely agree with this statement thanks to several reasons which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. The first primary reason is that publication genuinely are the conceptual academic to understand comprehensive matters. In other words, reading publication can obviously provide effective outcomes, succeeding high-academic achievement of students, while watching T.V. leads pupils to be illiterate person affecting the detriment of economic developments and a personal growth owing to an increasingly uneducated person in societies. A good case of this point is that the statistic has shown that 70% of job descriptions in the organizations requiring outstanding candidates are noticed as virtual pre-screen processes. Moreover, another compelling reason is that workbook have been widely accepted as merit educational materials. It is commonly easy to understand that textbook totally provide in-depth details, especially created by excellent qualified authors or well-known academicians. Perhaps, a clearest illustration of this belief is that the world’s best selling English grammar manual written by Raymond Murphy and Martin Hewings, published by Cambridge University Press, are considered to be the main English guidebook in several educational institutions. In contrast, the opponents may argue that television contributes clearer virtual illustration than workbook excessively relying on theoretical models. To explain, learners can be classified into two major features knowing as a fast-adaptive learner and low-adaptive learner: therefore, reading may not be the most practical method for some groups. ABC T.V. study in Australia, for instance, has broadcasted Arithmetic, History, Science and technology contents boosting cognitive development in youths. Despite the fact that this view seems to have validity on the surface, what the opponents overlook is that we cannot control the T.V.’s contents when children spend their time alone owning to the fact that programs may consist of the mature content relating to violence and crimes resulting in children’s behaviours such as self-uncertainty and aggressive actions. In conclusion, I certainly agree with setting textbook as the main source of information in the education system. If learning institutions desire to use television as alternative materials, they should initially implement workbook to be the permanent tool.