Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are multi options for transportation these days but railways and roads have been the most papular and important ways over the past a century. However, Some people think that railways are more worth investing monies for developing in compare to roads. In my idea, both ways are necessary in terms of transporting. The railways have been used for more than 150 years when the first locomotive was made. It has developed until now that turn to one of the most important ways of transportation not only for travellers but also for goods. furthermore, new locomotives are so faster than the older model and those speeds can be up to 360 k/h which is faster than any car. In addition, based on recent statistics, trains are safer than all vehicles because it has occurred rarely accidents. Hence, people think that governments should spend money to construct railways rather than roads. On the other hand, roads are essential ways of connection especially for local transportation for example between two cities in a state. Also, the most important point about roads is that their construction is more affordable than the former ways and they can easily repair if need a fix. Additionally, it is more available for every people and every single person not only can go on road trips without the need for a special schedule but also it is one of the common ways for product transportation between cities or even countries. Thereby, investing monies to build and develop roads by authorities should be significant as well as railways. In conclusion, these two transportation ways are the most significant way for all countries in terms of travel or export and import goods from all parts of their continents so without any prioritizing need spending monies by governments.