Some people think that higher institutions should concentration more on academic subjects such as history and the physical sciences, while others think that they should concentrate more on practical subjects such as car mechanics and cookery, and so on. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The subjects provided by higher institutions such as high school and universities often trigger controversies because skills that students can acquire affect significantly their life. While some consider that higher institutions should offer academic subjects, others state that schools should provide courses centring on practical skills. This essay addresses both points of view and the reason why I believe higher institutions concentrate more on academic subjects. On the one hand, some believe that higher-level schools should place more practical courses such as mechanics and cookery because these skills are essential for our livelihood and certainly serve students ' future. Practical knowledge such as cookery and mechanics is necessary for our daily life and brushed up skills are useful when their surroundings are in need. For example, my grandmother has a licence as a professional nutritionist, and my relatives always rely on her when they have diseases. Thus, practical skills are worth obtaining for students ' life and their surroundings. On the other hand, I argue that higher institutions are better to offer courses concentrating on academic subjects since knowledge of academic subjects broaden students ' possibility to get higher salary jobs. It is painstaking to acquire academic subjects ' knowledge due to their proficiency and the necessity of accumulated skills. Consequently, higher professions allow students to obtain fair salary jobs. This is well exemplified by legal students. Learning laws is not an easy job and is time-consuming. While they have to put their very best efforts to memorise legislation, they are promised to have a higher salary compared to the average income in the future. Therefore, academic subjects are able to offer more possibilities to get better jobs. In conclusion, although some consider it is significant to place practical subjects because these skills are useful for their daily lives, in my opinion, higher institutions should put more academic subjects due to increased possibility for students to get higher salary jobs.