In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

It is an irrefutable fact that the demand for housing is increasing together with the population growth. Due to the scarcity of urban space for accommodation purposes, governments have to build houses in urban areas. A segment of society is convinced that constructing new homes in rural areas is not a positive development. Others, however, believe the opposite. This essay will examine both points of view before making a final note. To commence with, housing is a basic human need. But, there is no more land in metropolises to fulfil the accommodation needs of the population. Take, for example, Shanghai. It is highly congested with streets reminding concrete jungles. The only way to offer more housing in congested cities, is to build houses in rural areas. This will help to tackle the issues like overpopulation, traffic congestion, and etc. On the other hand, if countryside land is exploited in an irresponsible way, the agricultural sector may be disrupted. This will lead to escalation of prices for agricultural products and their scarcity. For instance, farmers will have less land to plant wheat and the price of bread will naturally increase. This negative outcome may be avoided and even the agricultural sector may be improved if properly managed by the government. The government can build housing only on the land that is not suitable for harvesting and create job places related to agriculture for new residents. To conclude, there is no doubt that land dedicated to agriculture is essential for the whole country and the population. However, building houses in the countryside is an unavoidable development. Therefore, In my opinion, governments should use suburban areas in a responsible way, ensuring an adequate amount of land for agriculture.