Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The issue of increasing working hours in modern society has long been a serious problem. People spend a relatively long time at work, accordingly, there are only fewer hours they can spend on their own lives including physical activities. Some people may say that due to the time and effort people contributed, the world was able to be developed significantly in a short time. However, others say what is more important is having reasonable work and life balance. It is irrefutable fact that without the long working hours of older generations, it would be hardly possible to achieve what the world has nowadays such as technologies and infrastructures. That is to say, working extensive hours could enhance the quality of life on the whole. In addition to that, working can deliver the feeling of accomplishment. For example, when people finish a project and acquire successful results, the feeling that people can obtain is incomparable. Nevertheless, working inordinate hours and lack of own time is critical to mental as well as physical health. Most illnesses in modern society are caused by stress,particularly from work. To be more specific, because people do not have adequate time to enjoy hobbies or exercises or even short strolls, they could not able to keep either their body or mind in a healthy condition. Furthermore, provided that people spend more time at work, consequently, there is less time to spend with their loved ones. In other words, there would be fewer positive feelings amongst people. In conclusion, it is hard to deny that more work brings better development to society. Even though it is necessary to take steps forward, prioritising more important things has to come first. In order to live a life to the fullest extent, maintaining a good balance between work and time for loved ones and oneself is the pivotal key.