The use of smartphone is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is argued that people's collective intelligence is negatively impacted by smartphones and they are overly relying on technology to solve problems rather than their own thinking. I disagree with this argument because it cannot be applied to all situations. The impacts of smartphones on people's collective intelligence are heavily depending on how they use them. If smartphones and related technologies are used as communication platforms and tools for people to exchange ideas and facilitate collaborative work, the collective intelligence of people will be positively promoted. Especially during the pandemic period, most of the work is carried out remotely, during which workers take part in team meetings, projects and group decision making via video calls and group chats functions on their phones. Without the emerging development of smartphones and internet technologies, it is impossible to support collaborative team working, not to mention the sparking of great ideas among groups of people. On the other hand, however, it is not deniable that some people completely rely on their phones to search for information and ideas for different questions and problems without trying to figure out the best options by themselves. More importantly, if everyone in a certain team does not willing to utilising their own thinking skills, but depending on the online searching functions with their phones, there is no way collective intelligence could be generated. In a long term, the unwillingness of using the individual and group minds to solve questions are nurtured by smartphones. To conclude, smartphones and technologies are great tools to elicit group thinkings and collaborative intelligence if people use them properly as communication platforms and tools. However, detrimental effects could also be found if people are completely reliant on smartphones.