Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is advocated that such modern technological gadgets known as computers have taken a leading edge over any other inventions over the past centuries. From my perspective, I voice approval of the aforementioned in that I believe the computing device brings about innumerable benefits which otherwise could not be outweighed by any of their counterparts. In the first place, it is their convenience that revolutionizes life in virtually all major fields. In other words, but for their speed, affordability and accessibility, we humans would not have achieved as many major breakthroughs and historic milestones as we actually did. As an illustration, thousands of online shopping websites are born out of the craving for purchasing things at the push of a button, which is only made possible thanks to the invention of computers. What is more, it is undeniable that computing machine has significantly fostered interpersonal connection and communication. That is to say, they have built a worldwide network that engages almost everyone in cyberspace, thus facilitating business growth and economic development. For instance, employees, in the past, would work in an office-based environment which is now substituted by online working space. Hence, workers give better performance and yield greater results due to their workplace's comfort. Nevertheless, to a certain extent, laptops have their own drawbacks if used wrongly. In fact, there exist many situations where computing machine is taken advantage of, be it for crimes' purposes or improper motives. Take, for example, one case of their malpractice is the phenomenon of fallacious information being disseminated, taking a toll on some individuals in particular and the public mental health in general. All things considered, while there appear to be several cases where the computing device is exploited inappropriately, it cannot be denied as the most significant milestone in human's history. Therefore, I support the given statement, stating that computers are the greatest invention of all time.