In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Nowadays, a new trend is followed by youngsters in many different countries, they tend to take a gap year before going to universities, eighter to explore the world or to work part-time. This approach helps them to organise their thought and gives them time to decide what they want to do after school. However there are certain drawbacks to this approach, students tend to lose their concentration. To begin with, taking a year off helps them to understand themselves and the world in a much better way. Working after school gives you a general idea about recent technologies and help you understand what skill is needed for landing a successful job. For example, a recent survey showed that most school-going students do not have a clue what skills are in demand, they just follow their upperclassmen and pick a course based on limited knowledge. As a result, they are stuck with courses/skills that are not required in the market at present. However, being out of touch with books for a long period of time can lead to low concentration. For instance, due to this covid-19 situation colleges were closed, exams were cancelled and students were forced to stay at home. Most scholars took it as a vacation and stopped studying for a duration of 1 year. So now when everything is going back to normal they are no longer able to concentrate on their studies. To conclude, there are both pros and cons to this approach, but the advantages outways the disadvantages. Even if they lose their concentration they can still build it up but once they chose the wrong course they are stuck with it.