Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the issue of an immigration of a young generation to metropolis has attracted people’s attention. Some experts believe that capital cities provide abundant job opportunities, comparing to living in suburb areas, while others oppose that this development is likely to contribute negative outcomes in plentiful ways. In this essay, there could be a variety of reasons for this, and I am convinced that this trend has a great number of demerits. As for the first question, there are two principle reasons why the number of young people tend to migrate from their hometowns. To begin with the primary finding, most of well-known universities are located in the heart of cities; this means that these universities induce the ambitious students who desire to earn higher degrees. An illustration of this is that Chulalongkorn University, one of the recognized education institutions in Thailand, is in Bangkok considered as the principal goal among Thai students. A further reason is that a wide range of career opportunities were offered by various organizations. For example, there are bountiful public limited companies opening a large number of job positions with higher salary and fringe benefits. Therefore, some professions have a possibility to get an acceptance owning to the fact that the majority of companies base in metropolis. With regards to the second question, negative impacts cannot be overlooked. Firstly, one of the obvious is that the exponential growth of the population in the cities resulting in transport infrastructure in terms of traffic congestion. Moreover, this phenomenon does not only directly affect to cities, but it also leads the problem to rural areas. Local farming, for instance, could be abandoned since people decided to work in capital cities thanks to limited economic activities in suburb areas. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate the drawbacks of moving to the cities far outstrip the benefits. Although there are potential positive outcomes, they outweigh the negatives. The government need to implement the policies to mitigate this issue, if they want to solve the immigration of suburb people.