Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

School curriculum as an important part of children's academic life is always up for debate. Some individuals believe that due to the difficulty of a number of subjects such as mathematics and philosophy, they should rather be optional. I do not agree with these courses being completely voluntary. To commence with, although mathematics and philosophy may seem complex and hard to deal with to some people, they help to create and improve logical thinking. Mathematics develops analytical and critical thinking. For example, a good math scholar can be most valuable to society as they can contribute to their nation by becoming scientists and engineers. Also, philosophy is the study of fundamentals of nature, reality, and existence, which helps individuals get a better grip of the reality of the world they live in and its issues. Thus, it is of utmost importance to teach children these skills. On the other hand, these subject matters are composed of complex theories and may be hard to comprehend. Educational institutes should prepare courses for teachers on how to introduce these topics to children more applicable and less abstract. If useful theories and lessons are taught in the primary stages of the education process, schools will be able to make them optional later on. For instance, in high school, while students are in the process of choosing their career path, they can decide whether they need such courses or not. Therefore, it is best to mandate these subjects at the beginning and after that voluntary. In conclusion, as subjects like mathematics and philosophy are practical for children's future, I believe that they should be compulsory at first and voluntary later on.