Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that some people gain fame by their glamourous lifestyles rather than the work they do. While I accept that such people set a bad example for children, I totally believe that many celebrities may act as positive role models. Firstly, some famous people gain reputation without work for it. This is because they may have had a notorious social life, appeared in magazine covers and on reality TV programs. A good example would be Kim Kardashian, who is famous for her family TV show that is around the classy life, and dramatic events that she deliberately creates. Her success may promote the idea that building dramas might achieve popularity and wealth easily, instead of working hard in a particular field. As a result, it would have a negative impact on children who idolize her lifestyles and the way she becomes famous. On the other hand, many stars are known for their enduring work ethic and real talents. These people devote their energy to develop their skills and abilities in the long term before achieving their accomplishments, and teenagers may learn from them the good qualities. Cristiano Ronaldo, for example, who is a world-class successful footballer, is described as an icon of great effort, ambition, and determination. This kind of self-made celebrity can inspire children to work hard and aim for ambitious goals throughout the years. In conclusion, although notorious individuals can gain popularity simply, those who apply themselves to achieve their goals in chosen areas are the true idols of young people.