More and more business as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

With the steady advance in communication technology, many companies and individuals are using it for their daily interaction. Modern communication systems have provided many positives such as flexibility in terms of time and location, on the other hand, it has its own negatives such as distraction and losing human identity. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of using it as a replacement for face-to-face communication. One advantage of using information technology is the ability to concur with geographic boundaries. For instance, a person sitting in Damascus can immediately contact his Chinese vendor via email or WhatsApp. The same applies on companies, especially when using online meeting tools for setting up a meeting with people from different geographic location. This reduces the overhead resulting from travel expenses and attendee’s time availability. As a result, there is no doubt that technology has bridged the geographic gap among people across the globe. On the other hand, it can be easy to get distracted especially when using online chatting platforms and all forms of social media networks. For instance, the most recent surveys have proofed that people who spend their time on WhatsApp and Facebook…etc., are by far less efficient than the ones who don’t. another drawback is to lose the human factor during the conversation and relying more on emoji and stickers instead of eye contact, this can be misunderstood easily and will damage human interactions over time. To conclude, although advance communication tools have provided a more convenient method of interaction and closed the boundaries among people across the universe, there are numerous disadvantages as well especially when it is used extensively. the mode of communication needs to be picked carefully considering several factors such as distance and time.