Technology has impacted on the way people interact. These days, many relationships are created and maintained through technologies such as mobile, telephones and the internet. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using technology to establish and develop relationships?

In the modern era, technology has become an essential part of everyday relationships. There are those who say that technology such as the internet and cell phone has a beneficial effect on our relationships, however, others believe that overall it is detrimental to human interactions. In this essay, I will examine the benefits and downsides of this trend and provide my overall opinion. From an overall perspective, there are two key advantages of using modern technological devices to form and keep relationships. Perhaps the main advantage of this trend is that we can meet people easily. For example, social networks and dating apps are really helpful to find new friends with similar interests. A further point in favour of using technology in our relationships is that we can keep in touch with friends and family who are living far away from us. Unlike in the past, when it took months to send letters to our friends abroad, today we can send texts or call anybody, anywhere in the world, instantly. Despite these arguments, there are also various disadvantages to incorporate technology into our relationships. The main disadvantage of this idea is that people may lose social skills. This is because they prefer to chat online, rather than meet each other face to face. The more time people spend alone in their rooms chatting online, the less their interpersonal skills will develop. This could lead to a lack of confidence, depression, and anxiety. In conclusion, it must be said that using technology in our relationship has clear advantages and disadvantages. Taking the above into account, it would appear that there are more advantages than disadvantages between using technology to interact with people and not using it. If we can find a balance between electronic devices and face-to-face communications, then technology will enhance our relationships more than damage them.