Some people think individuals are born to be leaders, others believe leadership can be learnt. Discuss both views & give your opinion.

Leadership is a highly controversial topic in our modern world. It is said that some people are born with certain characteristics that enable them to become a great leader, while others argue that leadership is a learnable quality. Personally, I strongly agree with the latter viewpoint because training and experience are more important than innate ability in this situation. On one hand, it is true that many individuals are born with distinctive personal traits that allow them the opportunity to become talented leaders. Firstly, leaders tend to be those who are strong self-belief, intelligence and decisiveness. As result, a good leader with these characteristics can use his extraordinary critical thinking and analytical ability to come up with effective and creative strategies for any problems that arise at work. Secondly, born leaders often have the capacity to motivate, inspire and encourage people around them toward a common goal leading to the success. Therefore, individuals who lack of these characteristics may have difficulty inspiring the belief and loyalty that all leaders require and end up as followers rather than managers. On the other hand, there are also people who believe that leadership skills can actually be achieved through proper training and effort. This is the primary reason for number of institutes offering leadership training programs increases dramatically nowadays. For instance, public speaking is one of many leadership skills which these schools can teach individuals who are shy and lack confidence to find their feet in the leadership battle. Furthermore, it is obviously that many successful leaders were not natural born leaders, but they have been practicing to remain curious to innovative approaches, follow their passion and understand the importance of patience and empathy with their subordinates. All this would culminate in them becoming great leadership role models for their team members. In conclusion, although some traits related to leadership are likely inborn characteristics, I strongly agree that there is tremendous room for people to grow into high positions by to learning the skills and personal characteristics of great leaders.