Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

It is irrefutable that technology is advancing day by day and people from all over the world get easy access to this. Even, nowadays children are using technology for working with the programming language, playing games and so on. However, playing games on computers has detrimental effects on the youngsters. Playing computer games has many harmful effects on children's life. Sometimes the children's are becoming so addicted to those games that they can not lead their life without these. To give an example, in Bangladesh and India, recently many of the youth have been obsessed with 'Pubzi' games that resulted in a higher rate of child mental health problems in those countries. Consequently, insomnia, depression, stress rate are increasing in recent days as compared to the previous decades. Another fact need to be considered is that children's are always opted to mimic the characters or role of another person. Children's are trying to copy the actions, motives etc. from the games as they played. In the Netherlands, a child has shot their relatives by using machine-gun after observing the same thing in the computer games, for example. Therefore, it has a harmful impact on children's psychology which is really alarming for the future. Minimizing the bad effects of its is not straightforward. The combining efforts of both parents and governments can alleviate the problems. Many studies have been shown that parental behaviour has an impact on their children, for example, if parents give a little bit of time to playing computer games, then children also will not use computers to do so. Moreover, parents can take control of their children so that they can not play computer games without their permission. The Government can create many recreational facilities as a playground for the children with the aim that children can pass their time in those fields in lieu of playing computer games. To conclude, playing computer games have substantial detrimental effects on child mental health. Nevertheless, taking initiatives by policymakers and parents will be helpful for reducing this effect.