Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.”

There have been different viewpoints on whether or not criminals should be sentenced to prison. It is argued by some people that offenders should be punished by serving prison sentences while others believe there are alternative measures. From my own perspective, I am in favor of the former one. On the one hand, there is an array of non-custodial sentences to punish lawbreakers other than putting them into prison. Firstly, those committing minor crimes like shoplifting or pickpocketing can be sent to reform schools. This is because they often have poor educational backgrounds and at these schools, people will educate them about the dangers of committing crimes and the potential consequences associated with these acts; as a result, they will be able to distinguish right from wrong. Secondly, those engaged in illegal activities can be also put on probation or perform community orders instead of custodial sentences. As a consequence, they will behave as they should because they know they are under control of the police. In other words, they can have chances to reflect on what they have done as well as gradually reintegrate into society by doing good things. On the other hand, I firmly believe that prison sentences would truly act as a deterrent to criminals due to some reasons. First and foremost, imprisonment could greatly help to break the cycle of recidivism of offenders. It cannot be denied that putting those who commit crimes in prison might make them seriously aware of their guilt and be afraid of losing their freedom again, which, ultimately, prevents criminals from reoffending. Second of all, lawbreakers being locked up would ensure the safety of society. If criminals, especially those committing serious offences, were under poor supervision and lived freely, it would exert detrimental impacts on citizens as they would have a sense of insecurity. To sum up, notwithstanding other ways to punish lawbreakers, I still hold a belief that prison sentences are the most effective measure to deter crime.