Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered that individuals should make their own career choices in higher institutions while others think they should only be made to take courses that are useful. I will discuss both ideas and give my own opinion in this essay. On one hand, I think pupils should be allowed to make their own decision of university career because they get to pick what they have passion for. That is to say, when people venture into a career they are not forced into and have full interest in, they tend to excel more in that path as they devote all their attention and mind to it. For example, a popular music star named Johny freeze was forced by his parents to study medicine but when he got to the university, he switched to the Department of Music and today he is a famous and successful musician. Therefore, youngsters should be allowed to study whatever they want so their potentials can be fully maximized. On the other hand, some people feel that children should study what is perceived to be needed in the future like science and technology so they can have relevance in the forthcoming demand of workforce. That is, the world is growing fast into the age of technology and individuals with technological skills will be needed when this happens. Hence, pupils should be made to go into this line of a career in other to be relevant in time coming. For instance, bankers are now being replaced by mobile apps and ATMs lately, so choosing banking as a subject in the university is seemingly not necessary. This is why some people think students should study what is thought to be trending and needful. To conclude, even though most people think that useful subjects should be chosen for students, I believe they should be made to choose by themselves.so they can go into what they really love and desire as they tend to do great by so doing.