There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

Recently, there is much evidence indicate that the increasing usage of cars has caused a drastic change in people ’s health and well-being as well as contributing to global warming. In my opinion, I believe that there are two ways that government can do to discourage people from using their cars. To begin with, Government can gradually limit cars usage by imposing taxes. This is because if people find it costly to use their cars, they will more likely to use them only when it is necessary. For instance, in Europe, the car gas prices are high and there are ticket stations on most of the highways. Therefore, a lot of people in Europe use electric public means of transport instead of their cars most of the time. However, this approach alone is not effective in encouraging people to use alternatives for their cars. Furthermore, Government should motivate people to use environmentally friendly means of transport. The reason for this is that there are many people who live in remote and rural areas, who are mainly dependent on their cars; thus, they are more likely to not have access to the public transportation network in their regions. For instance, in the United States of America, the government built many electric cars charging stations and offers tax reductions for those who buy electric cars. As a result, the number of fuel-based cars started to decrease significantly leading to a less polluted environment that is healthy for everyone in the long run. In conclusion, the issue caused by the increased use of cars will not be solved in a short time. Nonetheless, the government can play a pivotal role in tackling this issue by imposing taxes on car usage and give reasonable motivation for people to use environmentally friendly means of transport.