Shopping online has various advantages for consumers but it may also have several disadvantages including the loss of individual privacy. Do the advantages of online shopping for consumers outweigh the disadvantages?

In various nations around the world, many people are doing online shopping rather than shop. Some of the consumers think that it is extremely efficient for them whereas others are not. It is undeniable that online shopping gives people a great number of cons, nevertheless there are some drawbacks to it. I personally believe that the benefits are more significant. The disadvantage of online shopping is the customers tend to lose individual privacy. This is because we need to create an account and disclose our bank details for the company in order for shipment and payment. For instance, we have to sign up for an account in the Shopee apps then only we can proceed with our purchase. As a result, certain people think that this is insecure due to there is a high rate of online scammers recently around the world. On the other hand, one of the major merits is online shopping can help consumers reduce expenses,especially in transportation and parking fees. Take Singapore as an example, parking fees in the shopping malls are expensive and there is an increase in transportation fares recently. So, by purchase things from the websites, they can absolutely save the costs and they only need to pay for the delivery fee. Moreover, online shopping is tremendously convenient for people nowadays. We can see that the majority of employees have spent half of the day at work, so there hardly have spare time to go to the shop to top up the groceries, thus online shopping will be their priority and wise choice. Consequently, they manage to complete two tasks at one time. To sum up, I believe the merits are of greater significance than the demerit. Although we need to disclose our privacy to the website, online shopping will definitely help people in saving costs and brings them convenience in their daily life. Given this, it is recommended that the public should start to practice shopping online as compared to the old method of shopping.