Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision making process. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In order to survive in this dog-eat-dog world, the management of a company needs to take a large number of strategic decisions by considering the company’s strengths and weaknesses. Resultantly, whereas some individuals assert that managers of a firm ought to take the necessary decisions alone, others attend that staff should be included in any important decision-making process. I, too, wholeheartedly deem that involving employees during the time of management decision is conducive to getting a deeper insight into the company’s external and internal factors. Decisions taken by the managers or directors alone are considered to be beneficial in that they know better about the overall mechanism as well as the financial position of their firm, which is not always known to all employees. That is why when an experienced manager set goals for a company, it is neither unrealistic nor unachievable because he or she knows best about the whole scenario of the firm. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that in China, 95% of companies’ goals have been achieved in 2010 down to following guidelines and instructions received from the top management. Therefore, so as to increase productivity, managers should take decisions alone. Plausible though, the top management has a better idea about the position of a firm, it is worth arguing that employees should be included during the decision making time. This is because employees not only have ideas about the organization’s internal day to day tasks and challenges but also know better about the competitors’ products, policies, to name but a few. Thus, if management does not include staff in the decision-making meeting, there is a high chance of overlooking some critical factors, leading the company to face a huge financial loss. To exemplify, in 2010, Nokia lost the market share in Bangladesh down to not having an idea about the competitors’ move that was known to their employees very well. In conclusion, even though management knows better some facts than employees, it cannot help to gain competitive advantages. Hence, I unequivocally buttress the stand of involving staff in the decision-making process.