The high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising but not the real need of the society where such products are sold. Do you agree or disagree?

With the development of industrial sector, market is flooded with commodities which are sold in large volumes. This trend is accelerated even more by commercials that promote articles which are otherwise worthless for the community. I agree with this statement to a large extent on the grounds that even though advertisements make people aware about recently launched goods, adverse impact of subliminal advertising cannot be ignored. To commence with, there is no iota of doubt that when the commodity is promoted, customers come to know about the the existence of such good. As a result, buyers can satisfy their needs after getting all the information from the advertisement due to which articles become popular. In this way both customer and seller are benefited. On the flip side, some famous articles gain high sales because it is pretended that they enhance social status. Subsequently, many individuals acquire it only as a status symbol even if it is of no or minimal use for them. For example, Apple launches new version of mobiles annually. Although, it serves the basic function of communication with a few advanced features most of the people buy it to improve their social image. Furthermore, publicity of goods encourage induced buying. In such a phenomenon, free gifts are given with less important but expensive products. Consequently, people are influenced by temptations and indulge in bulk buying which results into stockpiling in their store rooms. To cite an example, during festival season, sauce manufacturers campaign about their products with offers. Innocent customers fell prey of their traps and buy several packs of sauce which are thrown later on when they surpass their manufacturing date. To conclude, the purpose of promotion campaigns is to cognise people about the use and availability of goods but they allure them to get it for upgrading standard of life while they are worthless for the society. Such a practice should be stopped by promoters.