The dangers and complexities of the modern world have made the mobile phone an absolute necessity for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the increased number of trials and risks present in the current world, it is essential for children to have mobile phones. In my opinion, this statement rings true, for the safety of kids far outweighs the problems that they face due to increased mobile usage. However, I also believe it is pertinent to educate the kids about responsible mobile etiquette as well. Mobiles are tools to help us communicate easily with the people we know. As children grow up and start to interact more with the society without their parents around, it is essential that they have something to reach them with quickly in case something goes wrong. With the rise in academic competition, we observe students travelling further and further to attend tuition classes or extracurriculars such as volunteering and sports. A mobile is very useful in such circumstances to not only inform parents of their plans but also in cases of rescheduling. It is also vital in providing mental comfort to parents that their child is safe and easily in reach. However, one must be careful. Mobile and internet addictions are running rampant in our society. As parents, it is their duty to teach their kids about the proper limits of usage. This can be enforced by handing out phones with limited internet access and age-appropriate restrictions. The internet can also be a dangerous place for a child; hence it is also important to teach children about ideas like stranger danger and inappropriate adult behaviours. To conclude, while there are challenges to be faced with the handling of mobile phones by youngsters, I believe it is an absolute necessity for them to have their own devices. In this world where everything is so entwined with technology, this decision is a step in the right direction.