Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The idea that  whether students who have the best grades or those who make great strides in their studies should receive rewards remains a source of controversy in the education field. While a number of people believe that only students achieving the highest grades deserve rewards,  I would argue that it is more significant for students who make great progress to receive recognition. On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why students with the highest scores deserve rewards. Firstly, this will create a highly competitive studying environment at schools, seeing that every child desires to win prizes. As a result, students in classes will be motivated to put effort into studying for examinations. Secondly, those who get the best grades should have a chance to nurture their abilities. For example, schools could select gifted students with the highest scores for extra classes to take part in national competitions. On the other hand, I believe that it is more necessary for schools to give rewards to pupils who make strides in their studies. The first benefit is that every child deserves to have an equal chance to receive awards. Moreover, by doing so, instead of feeling disappointed when students who are not very academically inclined compete with their top classmates, teachers will motivate them to study at school. Another benefit is that this form of recognition follows a holistic principle of learning, which is to access to the world of knowledge, not just to gain the highest scores. As a consequence, several common phenomena which occur when examinations approach, including cheating, anxiety and pressure, will be reduced. In conclusion, although rewarding the highest achievers is advantageous to some extent, It seems to me that it is more significant for teachers to praise those who make progress in their studies.