In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on the society?

Undoubtedly, advancement in medical science has been proved as a boon for accelerating the life expectancy of people. Owing to this, the burgeoning rates of the senior citizens ' population can be observed in most nations. I consider this trend a constructive one due to its enormous benefits comprising responsible citizens, prosperous livelihood and assistance to youngsters. Commencing with the most salient reason why it is beneficial for society to have elders, they play a vital role in making a society a better place to live. Since most parents have hectic life schedules, there is no impartment of moral values in young ones unless there are grandparents with them. Grandparents enlighten them with every aspect of life, whether by setting examples in front of them or verbally describing things. Consequently, it renders society with not only responsible citizens in the future but also makes them more sensitive towards others. Moreover, attainment of happiness is another positive aspect of having elders in the home. Instead of living life idly, elders tend to involve in minor household works and share responsibilities too, which bestow adults with a relieved and pleasant life. Another worth considering merit is the wisdom handed down to the youngsters by the elderly. As older people have a plethora of real- life experiences, it often renders solace in seeking advice from older people. For example, retired citizens can adequately guide society's youngsters by sharing their experiences, such as how to overcome the crisis of poverty and what kind of initiatives one should take while setting up goals. Youngsters can also get benefitted from the preceding mistakes done by elders. This awareness can be conveyed either by using social networking sites or by forming groups with neighbours. Hence, society can gain a myriad of benefits from older minds. To conclude, positive aspects of society, including conducive environment of society, pleasure and constant guidance, can be ensured provided that more older citizens are in the country.