Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the power of advertising is driving the sale of popular goods rather than the actual demand of such products by the consumers. Considering the wide reach of advertising, I totally agree with this statement. Most of the business houses spend considerable amount of money on advertising their products. They use various modes of advertising, including, but not limited to, newspapers, television, internet, movie halls etc. This, in turn, helps business to popularize their products because most of the consumers have access to internet, television and newspaper where these products are advertised. For example, whenever people are watching a video on YouTube or listening to songs on any music application, such videos and songs are interrupted by advertisements. In addition to this, one cannot scroll through social media like Facebook or Instagram without coming across a couple of advertisements from shopping websites or any eateries around them. Moreover, the traditional form of advertisement i.e. television and newspaper advertisements are still circulating as always. Therefore, when consumers encounter such advertisements on a regular basis, they become curious to know more about the product and hence all of these advertisements help to create demand for the products which may not be actually needed by the customers. As discussed above, there are many factors which lead to the demand of consumer goods by marketing efforts of the companies rather than the actual need of the company. To begin with, the businesses hire popular and influential celebrities to advertise their goods, and thus, such products seem more attractive to people. For instance, Lux soap hired Aishwarya Rai Bachhan to market their soap which motivated women to purchase that soap as well. Additionally, companies generally advertise various types of discounts or gifts along with the bulk purchase of the products, such as 20% discount on purchase of 3 products or free noodles with the purchase of 2 kg tea, and therefore, people buy the product to avail such gifts even when they do not need to bulk purchase a product. Therefore, people end up buying the goods they do not actually require. While advertising creates false demand of the products, the benefits of advertising cannot be ignored. It helps in educating the consumers about the various kinds of products which are available in the market. It also helps in communicating the usage and benefits of the advertised products. Without it, the consumers may never know the different kinds and varieties of the same product available in the market which may hinder them in making an informed decision. However, the advertisements should be regulated so that corporate business houses can be stopped from creating false demand of the products which results in wastage of money and creation of waste of consumer goods as people generally throw away their old goods in order to get a new one. In conclusion, the development of various modes of advertising and wide reaches of such modes because of availability of electronic devices with an internet connection with most of the people has made it easier for businesses to popularize their products. However, this demand is not always correlated to the actual need of the consumers owing to celebrities influence and marketing offers.