In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the rate of crime is escalating. And this is because criminals are not getting the punishment they deserve. In my opinion, I firmly believe that people who break the law should be punished instead of being warned. The essay below elaborately explains my point of view. To begin with, these days we come across very brutal cases on newspapers and televisions. The sole reason for it is offenders are getting away easily with committing horrendous felonies. To illustrate, almost every day we come across barbaric offences like rape or acid throwing because these malefactors are not rightly chastised. Malfeasances like these not only ruins a girl's face but also her life. Yet, these folks get imprisonment of seven years or so whereas even the penalization of life long imprisonment is not enough for these sins. They can live their normally but a victim can never do that. According to recent research, the number of rapes are increasing worldwide. Hence, these wrongdoers deserve severe damnation. Furthermore, the rate of homicides are proliferating and the cause is justice is not rightfully served. For instance, we often come across news like the murder of an eleven-year-old or cases about the assassination of an entire family. Sometimes they get a life long imprisonment but most of the time because of factors like age or mental disorder they escape harsh retribution. Consequently, giving rise to more and more merciless felonies. Thus for offences like these, penalization should be strict and certain factors should be ignored. To conclude, in order to put a halt on heinous malfeasances the law system needs to be more strict. As mentioned earlier in the essay, I hold the view that folks who break the legislation should be chastised rather than being warned as that is the only way to dwindle the increasing crime rate.