Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

It is an irrefutable fact that globalization is inclining at a tremendous rate. As a result, Local vendors are unable to operate and compete with their bigger counterparts and they are on the verge of collapse. However, the collaborative efforts of the government and individuals can overcome this issue which will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. Fundamentally, it entails myriads of reasons. To begin with, local shops are small in size and due to,that they are unable to provide all the variety of eateries and groceries, which a supermarket of nearly ten times more of their size can provide. Therefore, people tend to dwell more towards hypermarkets to purchase products which lead to the failure of local markets. Another pitfall for small markets is the effective pricing provided by the supermarkets in order to attract people to purchase things from them. This is due to the fact that bigger merchants such as Big Bazaar, Walmart and Easyday purchase goods straight from the manufacturers which aid in decreasing the price of the product. To illustrate this case, A product that is on sale in a local market for Rs 100, could be bought at Rs 80 in big markets. Moreover, it sets a monopoly of price in the market which local vendors are unable to challenge. Nevertheless, there are several steps that can be taken to curb this menace. Chiefly, the government should set up various laws and taxes to the manufactures so that prices of a product should be maintained across the country whether if it is sold locally or in a hypermarket; it will have a substantial effect on the local market since people will buy at the same price as they are offered at supermarts. Furthermore, local items which are being produced within the country itself should only be allowed to be sold in local shops so that the community itself respects their purchase, and thus in return, this will paramount their sales. For example, country grown pulses and rice are to be purchased from local markets only; it will maintain an equilibrium among small and big markets and this would eventually reap the benefits for a small owner itself. To conclude, indeed with the increasing trend of industrialization and globalization has some decimal consequences on the local markets. It can be overcome by implementing new rules and taxes by the state and promoting country made products to be sold only in local markets which will certainly assist in their growth.