As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

With the increased progression in many,nations there has been an inclination towards a nuclear family. In this essay, I will discuss the rationale behind this phenomenon and scrutinize the possible effects it has on the nation. One of the foremost logic for a smaller family unit is the public awareness of family planning and the use of birth control pills and contraceptives. Due to the availability of better health systems and accessibility to contraception; people can choose their own family size. For example, when a woman gives birth and goes to postnatal clinics they are also made aware of the use of contraception and sexual health. This awareness gives the women the opportunity to decide on their next pregnancy and if they want to go ahead with it or not. Another justification can be that in developed countries there is a greater opportunity for women empowerment. By empowering women to join the workforce, creating spaces for female expertise and providing opportunities for education and skill development enables them to become self-reliant and independent. Thus, they become more career-focused and in the long term prefer to have lesser children. This can have a variety of consequences for the nation. One of the favourable impacts can be a decline in population growth, which will reduce significant pressure on the economy's infrastructure. This also indicates that with a smaller family unit the parents will be able to afford better education for their children with lesser costs associated with it, which in turn will benefit the community. On the contrary, the repercussions will be that in the future there will be fewer younger people in the workforce and more people retiring, thus deteriorating the fiscal balance of the economy. To sum up, the reduction in the family size is evident due to family planning and education, thus, having a positive and negative impact on the community. I firmly believe that irrespective of the impacts on the nation, this trend will most certainly continue as nations around the globe will persevere and become prosperous; therefore it is vital to understand the power of the younger generation to make the economy stronger.