nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than work for a company or organization. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self employed?

Instead of occupying professional positions in a company, people these days tend to favorise self-employment. This shift in people's preferences lies mainly in choosing flexibility and control over their lifestyles as well as their financial statuses. However, being self-employed, people can risk losing some other benefits such as financial stability and continous support. As a matter of being in charge of their lives, some people find less interest in salaried jobs while focusing more on having their own businesses. When people are self-employed, they can decide when not to work, when to leave for vacation and they are mostly in charge of the situation. Moreover, self-employed individuals have the chance to make more money. For example, when working in a company, a fixed salary is provided, whilst being self-employed you get to keep all the project's revenues to yourself. It is greatly undeniable that self-employment has grown more common amongst people as it guarantees time flexibility and a higher financial revenue. Although very comforting, self-employment can be a risk when it comes to financial stability and the support normal salaried benefits from. One disadvantage of self-employment is that the financial risk is not shared by an entity with capital but instead completely loaded on one person's shoulder., In other words, the days a self-employed takes as a leave are not paid. Furthermore, in any case of financial crisis, these independent workers will have to carry the consequences all by themselves. Another disadvantage will reside in the lack of support usually given to workers within a company. Such support, like pension, health benefits or even communital services, leave self-employed people pretty much on their own. Hence, self-employment comes with risks and responsibilities aside the comfort. To conclude, as much as it provides people with an extra share of freedom and control alongside some wealth, being self-employed has its drawbacks of instability and lack of long-term support. By weighing the risks versus the benefit, people should be able to determine whether it's more suitable for them to work in a company or independently.