Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there has been a heated debate that money should be spent on educational purposes instead of sports and recreation activities. From my perspective, I hold a strong conviction that these aspects are equally important and the expenditure should be evenly distributed to them. On the one hand, it is admittedly accurate that public funding for education has myriad merits. Firstly, if funding is well-spent on constructing schools for suburban schooling systems, it will encourage many young learners to go to school. For example, historically in Vietnam, many children had to quit school at a young age because of the shortage of institutes, which consequently resulted in a low literacy rate in Vietnam during the 1960s. However, due to the growing number of public schools subsidized by the government, many children nowadays had an opportunity to finish and some even tend to pursue tertiary education. On the other hand, monetary resources that have been put on sports and recreational activities also show a positive impact on society in general. For instance, several sports programs on TV encourage sportsmanship among Vietnamese citizens, which have been clarified when the national soccer team of Vietnam participates in tournaments, many people join together and uplift the mood of the whole nation during the period. Moreover, funded art programs play a pivotal role in enhancing the public conscience of an issue. To clarify, inside the Contemporary Art Center, many funded art exhibitions sponsored by the authority has been shown to effectively raise awareness in individuals regarding environmental problems. The masterpiece Erosion of Land performed by Truong Que Chi about the alleviation of fertile land in the South of Vietnam is one of the most prominent examples that are worth mentioning. To conclude, public funding should be equivalently sponsored in both fields, sports and education, because each of them affects society in a different way and all advantages needed to be promoted.