Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There are various museums that ask for entrance fees, whereas others do not. In this essay, I will be discussing both benefits and drawbacks of admission charges for visitors before arriving at a conclusion and opinion. On the one hand, imposing a fee in museums are advantageous. To start with, these can be used not only for the physical maintenance of the place but also for its improvement. If an art exhibit charges a certain amount to its goers, the incoming money will be allocated for the payment of utility bills such as electricity, water, and rental. Moreover, the latest advancements to enhance the overall appearance of the place, such as better lighting and sound systems, can be purchased with ease. In addition, admission fees can cover the salary that leads to the sustainability of employees. As long as there is an inflow of money, there is an assurance of continuous work. On the other hand, this case only caters to the privileged. There are individuals who cannot afford to spend their hard-earned money on leisure. For instance, “Art in Island” in the Philippines, which is a popular three-dimensional art museum among the Filipinos, charges approximately Php500 per head as an entrance fee. As a result, those below the poverty line, whose money is just enough for basic necessities, cannot get a glimpse of the different forms of artwork. Another disadvantage with regard to charging is the risk of closing. This is because destinations that charge are generally visited by fewer visitors. In conclusion, it is beneficial to charge admission fees to museum-goers because it covers not only the maintenance of the place but also the welfare of its employees. However, there are certain negative impacts to it such as the increased risk of closure as well as not being available for the masses. I personally believe that these benefits outweigh the drawbacks because generally they can support the finances of museums.