Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While it is undeniable that advertisements have a great impact on the sales of certain products and services, others argue that nowadays, marketing strategy of the products we buy are no longer effective. This essay will discuss both views and in my opinion, I still believe that buyers are still greatly influenced by promotions of items. Promotions of certain products through commercials on television, newspapers, magazines and billboards are very effective in persuading the customers to patronize certain products especially if the advertisements have a very appealing concept. Moreover, many people buy certain products if the model or endorser of a certain product is highly influential and credible. For an instance, a model of sports shoes should be a successful sportsman and is always seen wearing that product. On the other hand, other people believe that commercials and promotions of products are very common; which makes the buyers no longer compelled to buy the product or avail their services because they think that advertisement are exaggerated and are not true. For example, a skin product is promoted to be a very effective skin whitener and it makes skin fair and soft. However, the model that promotes it is naturally born with a white and glass skin. People believed that the products should be promoted by someone who has a brown skin and the result should be a whiter skin. In my opinion, advertisements are still effective because advancements in technology have made the promotions easier in reaching the consumers. Nowadays, commercials are no longer limited to television and print ads. Social media platforms are already used by businessmen to advertise their products and services. Moreover, advertisers know that consumers are now smarter so they see to it that their products are highly effective. In conclusion, advertisements are still very effective in swaying the customers to buy products and services as there are more ways in promoting their products and companies are now making sure that buyers will be satisfied with what they sell.