In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

Because of the growing demand from consumers, the entertainment industry aims to develop and expand its scale. By now, shopping has emerged to be one of the main forms of spending time and implies something more than just stock up some goods for a week. In this essay, I will give my opinion on this issue, which is that this could lead to personal and environmental drawbacks. To begin with, the global environmental system is deteriorating because of unconscious buyings. A high percentage of Earth pollution is associated with a high volume of non-renewable wastes stemming from a huge amount of unconscious buyings. Indeed, during a shopping process without any purpose, people tend to buy, for example, clothes which are new for them but at the same time useless. Most parts of these items are then discarded and burned; which, in turn, leads to considerable greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere. Another harmful effect is on the people’s budget. Defining shopping as the main source of amusement, people waste their money. In fact, being in such an environment where everyone buys something, many then emulate this behaviour because of strong exposure, spending a significant proportion of their savings. Instead, they could invest this money or save them for children’s education in the future. That is why I consider shopping malls as an adverse habit to maintain. In conclusion, even though there is an increase in society’s welfare, which is associated with the growth of entertainment industries, this tendency results in the shrink of personal savings accounts and the general environmental conditions of Earth.