Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars ?

Pollution is one of the major reasons for global warming. Due to this, our ecosystem is changing drastically and humans are experiencing more health issues too. Despite knowing this, keeping an own vehicle became the status symbol of many. In my view, it is true that, in cities gridlock are occurring because of individual vehicle use. This essay will examine the topic in detail with relevant examples in the following paragraphs. To begin with, in developed countries more than half of the population has a vehicle for self-use. Moreover, people think this is the safest and convenient mode of transport. To exemplify, in Arabian countries due to the hot climate people like to travel in their cars rather than depending on public buses. Perhaps, the same thing is applicable in European countries also but, there is because of the cold climate. Due to this extreme climates humans disliking to wait too long for government transports. In addition, a set of people keep vehicles to show-off and they consider it as pride. For instance, in developing countries like India, most people from the countryside use a van because they lack public bus services in their places. So, people have no option to meet their necessities rather than buying a vehicle for themselves. To continue with, the disadvantages of the above-mentioned problem are traffic jams and pollution. In cities, commuting persons are pushing to stress because of increasing traffic issues. It can be reduced by adopting carpooling and moreover utilizing the public transport system. Carpooling is successively implemented in many countries to decrease traffic issues. Along with this, the government should raise the quality and number of public buses also. To sum up, both the public and government should walk together to drag a solution to this worst problem. According to my point, I strongly agree with the opinion that, individual car use is the major reason for traffic in cities.