Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate about whether tertiary students should be permitted to learn their favourite subjects or force them with only the ones that benefit their future. From my perspective, studying what students like can be inefficient for later life as students will not be able to develop all necessary qualities and the following paragraphs will explain why. On the one hand, studying whatever students want can, in fact, give them more excitement about learning. This will be helpful since they may get insights in some particular fields of which they can take advantage to have an easier time working in those areas after graduating. Nevertheless, according to a recent research, a large part of successful people, who chose to only focus only on their preferred subjects in University, often have to put up with a long difficult period finding a suitable job. They shared that though they can work well, jobs that revolve in their specialisms are not always available. On the other hand, learning a wide range of subjects will be crucial because students can be more likely to complete many basic work skills. Once mastered, there will be many backup choices for them to decide if things do not go according to plan. For instance, Pharmacy department's students are forced to be good at pharmacology. However, not only that, they, in fact, should also specialize in mathematics and some other science subjects to meet the quality of occupation. Consequently, if becoming pharmacist is not possible anymore, science-revolving jobs will be another choice for them. In short, I do prefer the idea of studying all essential subjects as you will not have to worry too much about future job. In contrast, getting insight in some areas will help you to work better and may also be blessed if you are lucky. Still, you have to consider many of its risks.