As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are more willing to live alone or in nuclear families. There are some factors contributing to this phenomenon and I firmly believe that it is a negative trend to our society. The main reason is the shift of individuals’ lifestyle. In the past, people prefer to live in a big family union which allows them to work together, such as doing farm work, which needs plenty of labour. In addition, when there is some emergency, family members can help each other. However, as the advancement of society, individuals do not rely on group living too much in modern times because they are capable of finishing business on their own or with their colleges, rather than ask family for help, so it is unnecessary to live together with a big family. Another factor is that families in many countries are not as large as they used to be, individuals tend to live in small nuclear families instead of extended families. This is because raising a child requires a great deal of time and money, for instance, parents have to provide babies with high-quality milk powder and shower them with a wide range of different toys, when children grow older, parents are responsible for offering them best education. In order to struggle for survival and pursue higher living standards, it will be more suitable for modern people to have fewer children. When more and more people choose to live with fewer people, the lack of closeness in families can have a negative effect on next generation. They grow up in an environment without too many peers and family members, and as a result, it would be difficult for them to find friends to chill out or enjoy a family reunion during childhood. In this way, television and the Internet can replace the role of real person and become one of the main influence on children’s behaviour, which may make them be obsessed in this kind of new technology. In conclusion, people are keen on leading a solitary life or living with small families due to the change of lifestyle and the high cost of bringing up children, which may cause the missing of close family bonds, even the addiction of electronic products.