Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both.

Crime is an issue of increasing concern around the world. Opinions are divided as to whether longer incarceration times are effective in combating crime. Those opposed to this harsh punishment assert that other approaches should be adopted to prevent crime. I subscribe to the theory that in order to tackle crime successfully, longer custodial sentences should be accompanied by other precautionary measures targeting at the main reasons for crime, along with rehabilitation system, to produce good results. It has been argued that the best avenue to decrease the crime rate is to incarcerate offenders for a longer time. The motive of this severe form of punishment would be to instil fear into potential criminals and recidivists. By way of example, if they are aware that the penalty for heinous crimes would be a long custodial sentence, they would be deterred from perpetrating those crimes. Ergo, by introducing longer prison terms, crime can be dealt with effectively. Notwithstanding this feasible deterrence theory, judges should give reduced sentences where there are extenuating circumstances, such as crimes committed by children or the insane; otherwise, longer prison terms provide a way for juvenile delinquents who have been involved in minor crimes to educate to more serious ones. Some contend that rather than trying to deal with crime by toughening criminal laws and focusing on draconian punishments, the best approach is to address the possible fundamental causes of crime. Social problems and penury are the root causes of perpetrating of crime; when there are low rates of remuneration for unskilled jobs and prices are extortionate, the underprivileged tend to turn to crime. Therefore, increasing employment and education opportunities in poverty-stricken areas are of paramount importance. with regard to recidivism, they maintain governments should also provide funds for community services and rehabilitation programmes. It is believed that while offenders are making reparation for their crimes through these programmes, they re-establish positive work attitudes. From this perspective, not only might such solution reduce the rate of recidivism, but also ease the pressure on the prison system as a result of longer prison terms. However, I believe in terms of violence-related crime, reduced sentences would aggravate the situation. These In conclusion, although both sides of the argument are partially right, I take the view that this perennial problem can be solved through both the deterrent effect of longer incarceration times and governments providing jobs and community services. In fact, these approaches together can be fruitful.