One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

Although multitude of problems bother urban citizens, traffic is the most troublesome issue faced by them in their routine daily life. Some people believe that there is no other way except rising the taxation on individual bikes and cars to retrench the soaring number of vehicles on roads. However, I personally do not agree with this opinion. Firstly, I will discuss why levying additional cess on nonpublic conveyances will not serve the purpose followed by ways to solve this annoying perplexity. To begin with, augmenting tax on people's own mode of transport will fail to decrease rush on the city roads. This stems from the fact that many latest surveys published by reputed organisations stated that the number of people desiring to have their separate mode of transport is on a constant rise and on it's way to peak inspite of the prices of four wheelers that have already been hiked up by companies owing to scarcity of raw materials. This can be attributed to fears instilled by ongoing COVID pandemic which firmly reinstated the need for social distancing and avoiding gatherings. Moreover, halt of buses and trains because of lockdowns issued by government further contributed to the increasing demand. To illustrate, Hyundai India has reported a massive boom in their business in the current year due to change in customers mindset's and opinions. Thus, people who obviously treat health as utmost priority would not hesitate to buy new vehicle despite escalating prices and customs duty. On the other hand, instead of excess fees, many other measures can be implemented to effectively wane this predicament. One of them is to develop parallel and link roadways by enhancing the existing infrastructure. This ultimately would result in redistribution of motor cars resulting in reduced congestion. For example, Hyderabad witnessed a significant decline in frequency of stagnation after improving linking network and laying contemporary flyovers. In addition to this, several other means like implementation of even and odd number scheme in Delhi also proved fruitful. Hence, it is up to the local conditions to choose which technology suits the best. In conclusion, instead of imposing additional burden on the masses, law makers and executives should consider state-of-the-art ideas to downsize this arduous plight.