Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Teenagers can learn a lot through working in the community in their free time. Many people believe that this can be advantageous to the community and the children because services like picking up garbage and helping elders can teach teenagers to keep the place clean and tidy and respect their elders. I believe, however, that they should be paid for their work and time rather than doing it for free. Children do have free time compared to adults. It can motivate them to participate in these activities, utilized time appropriately, and get paid. In other words, knowing that they will earn through their hard work without even pushing them, they will participate voluntarily. For instance, if a teenager wants to buy pair of sports shoes, he will work in the community and earn that money rather than asking his parents. However, if asked to work for free, they might end up not performing the tasks well. They will find reasons to avoid performing services to the community. When forced to do the job, the outcome might turn out to be poor. For example, when rewarded, the child will be willing to do duty with utmost care. Therefore, it should be compulsory to pay, when they are working in their leisure time. In conclusion, the community should pay children for working because it will motivate them. In addition, there would not be any need to force them because they will voluntarily participate considering the reward they will earn.