The increasing housing problem in big cities has social consequences. Some people say that only government can solve this problem.

These days, the density of houses has dramatically increased, especially in the urban cities, which results in social implications including physical and mental health problems and being harmful to the environment. Someones tend to believe that these consequences can be alleviated by only the government. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the government plays a crucial role in urbanization as follows. Firstly, the government has the eligibility to impose the rule and regulation of housing constructions. In order to well house constructing management, government should legally oblige people to limit their authority to build improper housing or buiding. For example, constructing the high tower over 12 meters should be prohibited in the particular areas such as near ancient cities, sanctuaries, and conservative areas. Moreover, people who violate the rule and regulation will be seriously punished by detaining in the jail for 3 years or paying fine for 50,000 Baht. With these penalties and strict legislations, residents dare not to build a illegal house in the prohibited areas. Secondly, the government has the power to increase the price of the lands in the big cities. They can discourage citizens to buy the lands and build houses by imposing expensive taxes on lands and houses prices. For instance, the areas located in the urban such as Bangkok should have considerable higher prices compared to those located in country side, namely Samutprakarn. Due to the expensive prices, the areas will be used to build shopping malls or condominiums to make the maximum value instead of constructing the villages, which have to use vast majority of lands. Eventually, the number of housing will be significantly declined as extremely high cost of lands. In conclusion, although recently the enormous augmentation in big cities, especially the urban areas has detrimental effects on society as the high density of houses, the government is considered as the important factors, which is able to mitigate and compromise the problems of the social consequences by implementing house building regulations and increased taxes on the land prices.