Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are varying opinions with regards to the impact of advertisement on people. While some think that it has played a major role in convincing individuals to purchase a product being advertised, others believe it has become very common these days and as such, people tend to ignore them. In my opinion, however, publicising products especially the new ones in the market is crucial in determining the choices potential buyers make. One of the major reasons adverts are important in shaping people's choices on what to buy is because they usually provide detailed information about the things being advertised. It is unlikely that people would purchase what they have no knowledge about, particularly when they are new products in the market. Therefore, it is of utmost importance that manufacturers in order to coerce consumers to acquire their goods and services, advertise them through different media as this has proven to be very effective in directing people on what to buy. Nevertheless, adverts nowadays have become very popular and uninteresting such that people have started paying zero attention to them. For example, experience have shown that in some countries, producers are only interested in making huge profits rather than ensuring customer satisfaction. Hence, the true picture of the content of what is being advertised are not presented. As a result, there has been an increasing consumer apathy on adverts, but this is rare particularly in developed countries where there are strict government policies on consumer protection and products advertisement. In conclusion, although some people argue that advertising is no longer needed to make people buy things, I believe that it is an important means of marketing goods and services.