Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present day, with the advance of technology, many people spend much time in front of screens with a form of leisure rather than enjoy the time in outdoor activities. This behaviour when practice in overuse can lead to many negative effects. This essay will discuss why a bunch of adults present this preference and why it is a negative development. First of all, many adults have been increasingly busy not only in personal life but also in work-life which leads to a massive overwhelming burnout. Many those do not have a work-life balance; therefore, they spend much time in front of a computer which is an activity seen as cheap and comfortable since they do not need to socialize with other individuals but this behaviour can be dangerous by virtue of compromising of mental health. For instance, since the outbreak of coronavirus, many individuals spend time alone and this became a bad habit. The more adults would rather play computer, the more alone they will be. The overuse of online activities is a substantial consequence of the modern world and extreme usages never appoint a positive development. For example, some international research demonstrates that people in overuse computers are individuals with low self-esteem and with high rates of depression and anxiety. On the one hand, there is an advantage such as globalization, but on the other hand mental disorders have been increasingly present. Thus, governments and health organizations should pay attention to the health of the population, whereas it becomes ill due to bad habits. In conclusion, people spent a lot of time using online machines is not normal, which is not normal and need to be controlled because this perspective can affect children too. In other words, the negative sides can have disastrous consequences. This essay discoursed about the reasons some adults present a specific behaviour and how it could not be considered a positive side.